UMass Boston

Academic Calendar

Registrar

Campus Center, 4th Floor
UMass Boston
100 Morrissey Boulevard
Boston, MA 02125
registrar@arrowhead7whitetails.com



Phone:  617.287.6200
Fax: 617.287.6242

Welcome to the Academic Calendar!

The academic year is the period that begins with the first day of the Fall Semester and ends with the last day of the Summer semester. The academic year is comprised of the Fall, Winter, Spring, and Summer Semesters in sequential order, beginning with the Fall Semester. The academic calendar will be updated for the new academic year in late August after the end of the last summer session.

Current Academic Year: Fall 2023 - Summer 2024

Fall Semester 2023

Date Details
September 4 (Monday) Labor Day (Holiday)
September 5 (Tuesday) Semester Begins
September 5 (Tuesday) Classes Begin
September 12 (Tuesday) Add/Drop Ends
October 9 (Monday) Indigenous Peoples Day (Holiday)
October 27 (Friday) Last day to file for Dec 2023 graduation
November 6 (Monday) Spring/Winter 24 Registration Begins
November 11 (Saturday) Veterans Day (Holiday)
November 16 (Thursday) Pass/Fail & Course Withdrawal Deadline
November 23 (Thursday) - November 26 (Sunday) Thanksgiving Recess
November 27 (Monday) Classes Resume
December 13 (Wednesday) Semester Ends
December 14 (Thursday) Study Period
December 15 (Friday) - December 21 (Thursday) Final Exam Period
December 22 (Friday) Emergency Snow Day (if needed)
December 27 (Wednesday) Fall 23 Grades Due Online

 

Winter Semester 2024

Date Details
November 6 (Monday) Registration Begins
December 28 (Thursday) - January 1 (Monday) New Year's Holiday observed
January 2 (Tuesday) Classes Begin
January 2 (Tuesday) Online shopping cart registration ends
January 3 (Wednesday) Permission required to add classes
January 5 (Friday) Drop deadline for 100% refund
January 12 (Friday) Course pass/fail/withdrawal deadline
January 15 (Monday) Martin Luther King Day (Holiday)
January 19 (Friday) Classes End
January 6, 13, 20 (Saturday) Emergency snow days (if needed)
January 26 (Friday) Winter 2024 Grades Due

Spring Semester 2024

Details Date
Semester Begins January 22 (Monday)
Classes Begin January 22 (Monday)
Add/Drop Ends January 29 (Monday)
President's Day Holiday – no classes February 19 (Monday)
Summer 2024 Registration Begins March 4 (Monday)
Last day to file for May/Aug 2024 grad March 8 (Friday)
Spring Break - no classes March 10 (Sunday) - March 17 (Sunday)
Classes Resume March 18 (Monday)
Fall 2024 Registration begins April 1 (Monday)
Patriots Day (Holiday) April 15 (Monday)
Course Pass/Fail/Withdrawal deadline April 18 (Thursday)
Last day of classes May 8 (Wednesday)
Study Period May 9 (Thursday) - May 12 (Sunday)
Final Exam Period May 13 (Monday) - May 17 (Friday)
Graduate Commencement May 22 (Wednesday)
Undergraduate Commencement May 23 (Thursday)
Spring 2024 Grades Due Online May 24 (Friday)
Memorial Day (Holiday) May 27 (Monday)

Summer Semester 2024 - Session 1

Details Date
Summer Session 1 (SS1) May 28 - July 11
Registration begins Monday, March 4
 Registration for summer ends & shopping cart closes  Friday, May 10
Classes begin Tuesday, May 28
Drop deadline for 100% refund  Friday, May 31
Juneteenth Holiday - University closed Wednesday, June 19
Pass/Fail - Withdrawal deadline  Friday, June 21
July 4 Holiday, University closed  Thursday, July 4
Last day of classes (SS1) Thursday, July 11 
Grades due - (SS1)  Thursday, July 18

 

Summer Semester 2024 - Session 2

Details Dates
Summer Session 2 (SS2) July 15 to August 22
Registration begins Monday, March 4
Registration for summer & shopping cart PAUSES  Friday, May 10 - Sunday, June 2
Registration for SS2 REOPENS Monday, June 3 
Registration for SS2 CLOSES  Wednesday, June 26
Classes begin Monday, July 15
Drop deadline for 100% refund  Thursday, July 18
Pass/Fail - Withdrawal deadline  Friday, August 9
Last day of classes (SS2) Thursday, August 22
Grades due (SS2) Thursday, August 29

 

Summer Semester 2024 - Session 3

Details  Dates
Summer Session 3 (SS3)  May 28 to August 22
Registration beings Monday, March 4
Registration for SS3 classes beginning May 28 ends & shopping cart closes  Friday, May 10
Registration for SS3 classes beginning in July reopens by arrangement** Monday, June 3
Registration for SS3 classes beginning in July closes  Wednesday, June 26
Classes begin Tuesday, May 28 
Drop deadline for 100% refund 

Friday, May 31
Drop deadline for SS3 classes beginning after 5/28  See note below**
Juneteenth Holiday - University closed  Wednesday, June 19
July 4 Holiday - University closed  Thursday, July 4
Pass/Fail -Withdrawal deadline  Thursday, July 18
Last day of classes (SS3) Thursday, August 22
Grades Due (SS3) or one week after last class  Thursday, August 29

**Non-Standard class schedules 

  • Some courses scheduled in SS3 have different start and end dates
  • Check class details and your schedule for the actual meeting dates 
  • Drop dates will vary for non-standard classes that begin AFTER the session start date
  • For assistance adding any SS3 class with a July start date email registrar@arrowhead7whitetails.com 
  • For assistance with dropping one of these classes, email registrar@arrowhead7whitetails.com 

Summer Session 2024 Special Programs 1 & 2

Special Programs 1 

Details Date
Special Programs 1 (SP1) May 28 to August 22
Registration begins  Monday, March 4
Registration for summer ends & shopping cart closes  Friday, May 10
Registration for SP1 classes beginning in July reopens by arrangement** Monday, June 3
Registration for SP1 classes beginning in July closes Wednesday, June 26
Classes begin  Tuesday, May 28
Drop deadline for 100% refund 

Friday, May 31
Drop deadline for SP1 classes beginning after 5/28  **See note below 
Juneteenth Holiday - University Closed  Wednesday, June 19
July 4 Holiday - University Closed Thursday, July 4
Withdrawal deadline    Thursday, July 18
Last day of class (SP1)  Thursday, August 22
Grades Due (SP1)   Thursday, August 29 or one week after last class 

Special Programs 2 - Not Open for General Enrollment 

Details Date
Special Program 2 (SP2) May 28 - August 22
Registration begins  Monday, March 4
Registration for summer ends & shopping cart closes  Friday, May 10
Registration for SP2 classes beginning in July reopens by arrangement** Monday, June 3
Registration for SP2 classes beginning in July closes Wednesday, June 26
Classes begin  Tuesday, May 28
Drop deadline for 100% refund  Friday, May 31
Drop deadline for SP2 classes beginning after 5/28  **See note below
Juneteenth Holiday - University Closed  Wednesday, June 19 
July 4 Holiday - University Closed Thursday, July 4
Pass/Fail -Withdrawal deadline Thursday, July 18
Last day of class (SP2) Thursday, August 22
Grades Due (SP2) Thursday, August 29 or one week after last class

**Non-Standard class schedules 

  • Some courses scheduled in SP1 & SP2 have different start and end dates
  • Check class details and your schedule for the actual meeting dates 
  • Drop dates will vary for non-standard classes that begin AFTER the session start date
  • For assistance adding any SP1 & SP2 class with a July start date email registrar@arrowhead7whitetails.com 
  • For assistance with dropping one of these classes, email registrar@arrowhead7whitetails.com 

View as Calendar

View in calendar mode or download the ICS file to sync to your local calendar

Registrar

Campus Center, 4th Floor
UMass Boston
100 Morrissey Boulevard
Boston, MA 02125
registrar@arrowhead7whitetails.com



Phone:  617.287.6200
Fax: 617.287.6242